2018 Academy Award Winners

The 2018 Academy Award winners were announced during the 90th Academy Awards presentation which aired live on Sunday, March 4, 2018.

Host Jimmy Kimmel did a good job and jabbed fun at a lot of celebrities and as always was full of surprises.  Most of the people who were expected to win awards won them and the awards were evenly distributed between the main films in contention.  Despite many references to “MeToo” and Harvey Weinstein, it was not as political as the Golden Globe Awards ceremony.  The most conspicuous theme of the awards show however was the celebration of female empowerment in the wake of the sexual harassment scandals that gripped the movie production community for the previous year.

The Shape of Water‘ was the big winner at the 2018 Academy Awards with four Oscars including Best Picture of the year, Best Director for Guillermo Del Toro, Best Original Score by Alexandre Desplat and Best Production Design and Set Decoration.

In our previous post, we listed out all of the categories and the nominees.  Each of the winners of each category are highlighted in Orange below along with the entire list of nominees.

And The Winner Is …

Best Picture

Best Actor

Best Actress

Best Supporting Actress

Best Supporting Actor

Best Director

Best Animated Feature

  • Coco” – Lee Unkrich and Darla K. Anderson
  • Ferdinand”
  • Boss Baby”
  • Loving Vincent”
  • The Breadwinner”

Best Documentary Feature

  • Icarus” – Bryan Fogel and Dan Cogan
  • Abacus: Small Enough to Jail”
  • Strong Island”
  • Faces Places”
  • Last Men in Aleppo”

Best Original Screenplay

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • James Ivory for “Call Me By Your Name”
  • Scott Frank and James Mangold for “Logan”
  • Aaron Sorkin for “Molly’s Game”
  • Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber for “The Disaster Artist”
  • Virgil Williams and Dee Rees for “Mudbound”

Best Foreign Language Film

  • A Fantastic Woman” (Chile)
  • Loveless” (Russia)
  • The Square” (Sweden/Germany/France)
  • On Body and Soul” (Hungary)
  • The Insult” (Lebanon)

Best Original Score

Best Original Song

  • Remember Me” from “Coco” – Music by: Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez – Lyrics by: Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
  • Mighty River” from “Mudbound” – Music by: Raphael Saadiq – Lyrics by: Mary J. Blige, Raphael Saadiq and Taura Stinson
  • This is Me” from “The Greatest Showman” – Music by: Benj Pasek and Justin Paul – Lyrics by: Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
  • The Mystery of Love” from “Call Me By Your Name” – Music by: Sufjan Stevens – Lyrics by: Sufjan Stevens
  • Stand Up For Something” from  “Marshall” – Music by Diane Warren – Lyrics by: Diane Warren and Lonnie R. Lynn

Best Animated Short

  • Dear Basketball” Director: Glen Keane (Glen Keane Productions) and Kobe Bryant
  • Lou” Director: Dave Mullins (Pixar Animation Studio)
  • Garden Party” Director: Victor Caire and Gabriel Grapperon (MOPA)
  • Negative Space” Director: Max Porter and Ru Kuwahata (Ikki Films)
  • Revolting Rhymes” Director: Jakob Schuh and Jan Lachauer (Magic Lights Pictures)

Best Documentary Short

  • Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405″ Frank Steifel, Stiefel & Co.
  • Heroin(e)” Netflix
  • Edith+Eddie” Heart is Red and Kartemquin Films
  • Knife Skills” TFL Films
  • Traffic Stop” Q-Ball Productions

Best Live Action Short

  • The Silent Child” Director: Chris Overton – Writer: Rachel Shenton (Slick Films)
  • DeKalb Elementary” Director: Reed Van Dyk (UCLA)
  • The Eleven O’Clock” Director: Derin Seale (FINCH)
  • My Nephew Emmett” Director: Kevin Wilson, Jr. (NYU)
  • Watu Wote/All of Us” Director: Katja Benrath (Hamburg Media School)

Best Editing

Best Visual Effects

  • Gerd Nefzer, John Nelson, Paul Lambert and Richard R. Hoover for “Blade Runner 2049″
  • Richard Bain, Ben Morris, Michael Mulholland and Chris Corbould for “Star Wars: The Last Jedi”
  • Joe Leterri, Dan Lemmon, Eric Winquist and Dan Cervin for “War for the Planet of the Apes”
  • Matthew Crnich, Ray McMaster, Kevin Andrew Smith, Doug Spilatro and Christopher Townsend for “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2″
  • Jeff White, Mike Meinardus, Scott Benza and Stephen Rosenbaum for “Kong: Skull Island”

Best Sound Editing

  • Richard King and Alex Gibson for “Dunkirk
  • Mark Mangini and Theo Green for “Blade Runner 2049″
  • Julian Slater for “Baby Driver”
  • Matthew Wood for “Star Wars: The Last Jedi”
  • Nathan Robitaille and Nelson Ferreira for “The Shape of Water

Best Sound Mixing

  • Gregg Landaker, Gary Rizzo and Mark Weingarten for “Dunkirk
  • Ron Bartlett, Doug Hemphill and Mac Ruth for “Blade Runner 2049″
  • Tim Cavagin, Julian Slater, Mary H. Ellis and James Peterson for “Baby Driver”
  • David Parker, Michael Semanick and Tim White for “Star Wars: The Last Jedi”
  • Brad Zoern, Christian T. Cooke and Glen Gauthier for “The Shape of Water

Best Cinematography

  • Roger Deakins for “Blade Runner 2049″
  • Bruno Delbonnel for “Darkest Hour
  • Dan Laustsen for “The Shape of Water
  • Rachel Morrison for “Mudbound”
  • Hoyte Van Hoytema for “Dunkirk

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

  • David Malinowski, Kazuhiro Tsuji and Lucy Sibbick for “Darkest Hour
  • Arjen Tuiten for “Wonder”
  • Daniel Phillips and Lou Sheppard for “Victoria & Abdul”

Best Costume Design

  • Mark Bridges for “Phantom Thread”
  • Jacqueline Durran for “Beauty and the Beast”
  • Jacqueline Durran for “Darkest Hour
  • Luis Sequeira for “The Shape of Water
  • Consolata Boyle for “Victoria & Abdul”

Best Production Design

  • Paul D. Austerberry for “The Shape of Water – Set Decoration: Shane Vieau and Jeffrey A. Melvin
  • Sarah Greenwood for “Beauty and the Beast”
  • Dennis Gassner for “Blade Runner 2049″
  • Sarah Greenwood for “Darkest Hour
  • Nathan Crowley for “Dunkirk

A complete list of Academy Award Winners can be found at the official Oscars website www.oscars.org.