Best in Show

Best in Show is a 2000 American comedy mocumentary film directed by Christopher Guest and produced by Gordon Mark and Karen Murphy.  The screenplay was written by Christopher Guest and Eugene Levy.

Best in Show | Best in Show Movie Poster | 2000 | Christopher Guest | Eugene Levy | Catherine O'Hara | Fred Willard | Parker Posey | John Michael Higgins | Michael McKean | Jennifer Coolige | Michael Hitchcock | Jane Lynch | Bob Balabon | Ed Begley Jr. | Larry Miller | Don S. Davis | |
Best in Show Movie Poster

Rated:  PG-13 (movie contains language and sex-related material)
Run Time:  1h 30min
Release Date:  October 20, 2000 (USA)
Genre:  Comedy, Mockumentary
Director:  Christopher Guest
Studio:  Warner Bros. Pictures
Budget:  $10 Million
Box Office:  $20.8 Million

Best in Show stars Christopher Guest, Eugene Levy, Catherine O’Hara, Fred Willard, Parker Posey, John Michael Higgins, Michael McKean, Jennifer Coolige, Michael Hitchcock, Jane Lynch, Bob Balabon, Ed Begley Jr., Larry Miller and Don S. Davis.

Best in Show is presented as a documentary about the contestants from all over the world competing in the annual Mayflower Kennel Club Dog Show. The Mayflower is one of the largest and most respected dog shows in America. A film crew interviews owners and handlers as they prepare for the trip, arrive at the Taft Hotel in Philadelphia and compete in their various classes. The tension mounts and excitement grows with hundreds of eager canine contestants and their owners as they compete for the top honors for the coveted Best in Show.

From Florida come Gerry Fleck (Eugene Levy) and his wife Cookie (Catherine O’Hara) with their Norwich Terrier, Winky. The Fleck’s are a middle-class couple who are having money problems and are forced to sleep in the hotels storage room when they finally arrive in Philly.

The high strung Swan’s, Meg (Parker Posey) and Hamilton (Michael Hitchcock), are an upper-class stereotypical yuppy couple who feud loudly in front of their prized Weimaraner, Beatrice.

Harlan Pepper (Christopher Guest) and his bloodhound Hubert are from the piney woods of North Carolina. Harlan’s family have raised bloodhounds for generations and Harlan continues the tradition, though he has aspirations of becoming a ventriloquist.

Then there are Sherri Ann (Jennifer Coolidge) and Leslie Ward Cabot (Patrick Cranshaw) with their standard poodle, Rhapsody in White, a two time winner of the Mayflower. Sherri Ann is a voluptuous blonde, having the elderly Leslie as her sugar daddy. Their handler, Christy Cummings (Jane Lynch) makes sure Rhapsody is ready for the show.

Lastly, the film crew interviews and focuses on Scott Donlan (John Michael Higgins) and Stefan Vanderhoof (Michael McKean) and their Shih Tzu. The gay couple takes great pride in their dog, and are confident she will win the competition.

The owners and their dogs all arrive in time for the show and the competition begins to see who ultimately wins Best in Show at the Mayflower.

Movie Quotes

“We met at Starbucks. Not at the same Starbucks but we saw each other at different Starbucks across the street from each other.” – Meg Swan 
“And to think that in some countries these dogs are eaten.” – Buck Laughlin

“I’ve banged a lot of waitresses in my day, but you, you were the best.” – Malcolm
“You don’t forget the best.” – Cookie Fleck

“He went for her like she’s made out of ham.” – Buck Laughlin

Official Movie Trailer

Movie Stars

Christopher Guest as Harlan Pepper

Eugene Levy as Gerry Fleck

Catherine O’Hara as Cookie Fleck

Fred Willard as Buck Laughlin

Parker Posey as Meg Swan

John Michael Higgins as Scott Donlan

Michael McKean as Stefan Vanderhoof

Jennifer Coolige as Sherri Ann Cabot

Michael Hitchcock as Hamilton Swan

Jane Lynch as Christy Cummings

Bob Balabon as Dr. Theodore W. Millbank III

Ed Begley Jr. as Hotel Manager

Larry Miller as Max Berman

Don S. Davis as Mayflower Best in Show Judge

Additional Information