2019 Academy Award Nominations

Academy Awards, often referred to as Oscars are the highest honors given in film making. On Tuesday, January 22, 2019, this years Oscar nomination were announced.  The 91st Oscars presentation will air live on ABC on Sunday, February 24, 2019 at 5pm PST (8pm EST) and will be televised live in more than 225 countries. Every year the entertainment world and motion picture fans around the world turn their attention to the Academy Awards.  This years complete list of nominees are as follows:

Best Picture

Best Actor

Best Actress

Best Supporting Actress

Best Supporting Actor

Best Director

Best Animated Feature

  • Incredibles 2
  • Isle of Dogs
  • Mirai
  • Ralph Breaks the Internet
  • Spider-Man: Into the Spider-verse

Best Documentary Feature

  • Free Solo
  • Hale County This Morning, This Evening
  • Minding the Gap
  • Of Fathers and Sons
  • RBG

Best Original Screenplay

  • Deborah Davis and tony McNamara for “The Favourite
  • Paul Schrader for “First Reformed
  • Nick Vallelonga, Brian Currie and Peter Farrelly for “Green Book
  • Alfonso Cuaron for “Roma
  • Adam McKay for “Vice

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Joel Coen and Ethan Coen for “The Ballad of Buster Scruggs
  • Charlie Wachtel, David Rabinowitz, Kevin Willmott and Spike Lee for “BlacKkKlansman
  • Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty for “Can You Ever Forgive Me?
  • Barry Jenkins for “If Beale Street Could Talk
  • Eric Roth, Bradley Cooper and Will Fetters for “A Star Is Born

Best Foreign Language Film

  • Capernaum” (Lebanon)
  • Cold War” (Poland)
  • Never Look Away” (Germany)
  • Roma” (Mexico)
  • Shoplifters” (Japan)

Best Original Score

  • Ludwig Goransson for “Black Panther
  • Terence Blanchard for “BlacKkKlansman
  • Nicholas Britell for “If Beale Street Could Talk
  • Alexandre Desplat for “Isle of Dogs
  • Marc Shaiman for “Mary Poppins Returns

Best Original Song

  • All the Stars” from “Black Panther” – Music by: Mark Spears, Kendrick Lamar Duckworth and Anthony Tiffith – Lyrics by: Kendrick Lamar Duckworth, Anthony Tiffith and Solana Rowe
  • I’ll Fight” from “RBG” – Music and Lyrics by: Diane Warren
  • The Place Where Lost Things Go” from “Mary Poppins Returns” – Music by: Marc Shaiman – Lyrics by: Scott Wittman and Marc Shaiman
  • Shallow” from “A Star Is Born” – Music and Lyrics by: Lady Gaga, Mark Ronson, Anthony Rossomando and Andrew Wyatt
  • When A Cowboy Trades His Spurs For Wings” from  “The Ballad of Buster Scruggs” – Music and Lyrics by: David Rawlings and Gillian Welch

Best Animated Short

  • Animal Behaviour” Director: Alison Snowden and David Fine
  • Bao” Director: Domee Shi and Becky Neiman-Cobb
  • Late Afternoon” Director: Louise Bagnall and Nuria Gonzalez Blanco
  • One Small Step” Director: Andrew Chesworth and Bobby Pontillas
  • Weekends” Director: Trevor Jimenez

Best Documentary Short

  • Black Sheep” Ed Perkins and Jonathan Chinn
  • End Game” rob Epstein and Jeffrey Friedman
  • Lifeboat” Skye Fitzgerald and Bryn Mooser
  • A Night At The Garden” Marshall Curry
  • Period. End of Sentence” Rayka Zahtabchi and Melissa Berton

Best Live Action Short

  • Detainment” Director: Vincent Lambe and Darren Mahon
  • Fauve” Director: Jeremy Comte and maria Gracia Turgeon
  • Marguerite” Director: Marianne Farley and marie-Helene Panisset
  • Mother” Director: Rodrigo Sorogoyen and Maria del Puy Alvarado
  • Skin” Director: Guy Nattiv and Jaime Ray Newman

Best Editing

Best Visual Effects

  • Dan DeLeeuw, Kelly Port, Russell Earl and Dan Sudick for “Avengers: Infinity War
  • Christopher Lawrence, Michael Eames, Theo Jones and Chris Corbould for “Christopher Robin
  • Paul Lambert, Ian Hunter, Tristan Myles and J.D. Schwalm for “First Man
  • Roger Guyett, Grady Cofer, Matthew E. Butler and David Shirk for “Ready Player One
  • Rob Bredow, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Dominic Tuohy for “Solo: A Star Wars Story

Best Sound Editing

  • Benjamin A Burtt and Steve Boeddeker for “Black Panther
  • John Warhurst and Nina hartstone for “Bohemian Rhapsody
  • Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan for “First Man
  • Ethan Van der Ryn and Erik Aadahl for “A Quiet Place
  • Sergio Diaz and Skip Lievsay for “Roma

Best Sound Mixing

  • Steve Boeddeker, Brandon Proctor and Peter Devlin for “Black Panther
  • Paul Massey, Tim Cavagin and John Casali for “Bohemian Rhapsody
  • Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montano, Ai-Ling Lee and Mary H. Ellis for “First Man
  • Skip Lievsay, Craig Henighan and Jose Antonio Garcia for “Roma
  • Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic, Jason Ruder and Steve Morrow for “A Star Is Born

Best Cinematography

  • Lukasz Zal for “Cold War
  • Robbie Ryan for “The Favourite
  • Caleb Deschanel for “Never Look Away
  • Alfonso Cuaron for “Roma
  • Matthew Libatique for “A Star Is Born

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

  • Goran Lundstrom and Pamela Goldammer for “Border
  • Jenny Shircore, Marc Pilcher and Jessica Brooks for “Mary Queen of Scots
  • Greg Cannom, Kate Biscoe and Patricia DeHaney for “Vice

Best Costume Design

  • Mary Zophres for “The Ballad of Buster Scruggs
  • Ruth Carter for “Black Panther
  • Sandy Powell for “The Favourite
  • Sandy Powell for “Mary Poppins Returns
  • Alexandra Byrne for “Mary Queen of Scots

Best Production Design

  • Hannah Beachler for “Black Panther
  • Fiona Crombie for “The Favourite
  • Nathan Crowley for “First Man
  • John Myhre for “Mary Poppins Returns
  • Eugenio Caballero for “Roma

And The Winner Is …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *