Tropic Thunder

Tropic Thunder is a 2008 American satirical action comedy film directed by Ben Stiller and written by Ben Stiller, Justin Theroux and Ethan Cohen.

Tropic Thunder Movie Poster
Tropic Thunder Movie Poster

Rated:  R
Run Time:  1h 47min
Release Date:  August 13, 2008 (USA)
Genre:  Action, Comedy, Drama, War
Director:  Ben Stiller




Tropic Thunder stars Ben StillerRobert Downey Jr., Jack Black, Jay Baruchel, Brandon T. Jackson, Steve Coogan, Danny McBride, Bill Hader, Nick Nolte, Tyra Banks, Christine Taylor, Matthew McConaughey, Brandon Soo Hoo, Tom Cruise, Jon Voight, Jason Bateman and Alicia Silverstone.

When three of Hollywood’s biggest stars head into the jungles of Vietnam to shoot a war movie, they have no idea how real things can get.  Tugg Speedman (Ben Stiller) is a pampered action movie superstar who is co-starring in the biggest, most expensive war movie ever produced.  Sgt. Fourleaf Tayback (Nick Nolte) is the author of the international best seller “Tropic Thunder” which details his accounts of the Vietnam War and was developed into a screenplay for the movie production.  Soon after filming starts, Speedman and his co-stars which include five-time Oscar winner Kirk Lazarus (Robert Downey Jr.), comedy actor Jeff Portnoy (Jack Black) and the rest of the crew find themselves in the Vietnam jungles and are forced to become real soldiers when real fighting breaks out while they are filming the movie.

Movie Quotes

” I know who I am. I’m the dude playin’ the dude, disguised as another dude!” – Kirk Lazarus
“And why am I in this movie? Maybe it’s because I just knew I had to represent, because they had one good part in here for a black man and they gave it to Crocodile Dundee!” – Alpa Chino
“Man we’re lost, we’re super lost!” – Kirk Lazarus
“You m-m-m-mmm-m-make me happy.” – Tugg Speedman
“You went full retard man, never go full retard” – Kirk Lazarus

Official Movie Trailer

Movie Stars

Ben Stiller as Tugg Speedman

Robert Downey Jr. as Kirk Lazarus

Jack Black as Jeff Portnoy

Jay Baruchel as Kevin Sandusky

Brandon T. Jackson as Alpa Chino

Nick Nolte as Four Leaf Tayback

Danny McBride as Cody

Bill Hader as Studio Executive Rob Slolom

Matthew McConaughey as Rick Peck

Tom Cruise as Les Grossman

Steve Coogan as Damian Cockburn

Christine Taylor as Rebecca

Brandon Soo Hoo as Tran

Jon Voight as Himself

Alicia Silverstone as Herself

Tyra Banks as Herself

Jason Bateman as Himself